17-Member Advisory Board for CBAS Inaugurated

A 17-member advisory board for the College of Basic and Applied Sciences (CBAS) has been inaugurated. The Board, chaired by Ing. David Osei Amankwah, Managing Director of David Walter Limited, is to supervise and direct the development agenda of the College to make its programs relevant to global and contemporary trends in the field of study. 

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Nana Aba Appiah Amfo, thanked the members for availing themselves for the task and urged them to be guided by the general policy framework of the University.  

Prof. Amfo indicated that, under her leadership, Management of the University is committed to a phenomenal transformation through technology, anchored in humanism to give students and other stakeholders the best experience comparable to other topnotch universities around the world.  

She charged the Provost and his team to modernise the classrooms within the College, while the Central Administration concentrates on modernising shared classrooms. 

She expressed her confidence in the Board and hoped that members will distinguish themselves in the assignment and make CBAS the first choice for both students and researchers from Ghana, West Africa and globally. 

The Board Chair, Ing. David Osei Amankwah, in brief remarks assured the Vice-Chancellor that the Board will use its collective knowledge, experiences and skills to deal innovatively with challenges that the College might be encountering to enable it attain the highest standards.  

Members of the Advisory Board include Professor Boateng Onwona-Agyemang, Provost (CBAS); Mr. Worlanyo Newton Torvinyo,  College Secretary; Mr. Benjamin Owusu Addo, College Finance Officer; Mrs. Yvette Adounvo Atekpe, Council Representative; Prof. David Dodoo-Arhin, College Academic Board Representative; Dr. Francis Kofi Oppong, Representative from the Alumni; Mrs. Ama Lawson, General Manager, HR and Administration at Media General Ltd; Dr. Kwame Koranteng, Freelance Consultant; Dr. Mercy Ekua Gardiner, CEO of Devapps Ltd; Mr. Kojo Aduhene, CEO of LMI Holdings; Ms. Ayesha Bedwei Ibe, Partner PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) and Dr. Benjamin K.D. Asante, CEO of Ghana Gas; Mr. Nathaniel Ansong Asiedu, SSAUoG; Mr. Victor Adusei Okrah, FUSSAG; Mr. Daniel Dogblorwu, TEWU;  

Present at the ceremony were Prof. Olivia Anku-Tsede, the then Legal Counsel; Mrs. Elizier T. Ameyaw-Buronyah, Director, Public Affairs; Ms. Pascaline Songsore, Senior Assistant Registrar, Public Affairs and Mr. Emmanuel Baidoo, former College Secretary (CBAS).