Three Outstanding University of Ghana Students Honoured with Prestigious Award in Vienna


In an awards ceremony held in Vienna, Austria, three exceptionally talented University of Ghana’s School of Engineering Sciences students received prestigious awards from the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

The recipients of these awards, namely Ms. Samuella Chiakwor Otuteye, Mr. Philip Fiifi Ghanney, and Mr. Caleb Senyo Ansah were recognised for their unwavering dedication, academic excellence and exceptional contributions to the fields of environment, science, technology, and innovation.

Comprising three Biomedical Engineering students, the team focused on nuclear science to design a solution for cancer management while raising awareness about nuclear science's diverse potential applications.

Speaking on behalf of the team, Ms. Samuella Chiakwor Otuteye outlined the competition's purpose: “Our primary objective was to raise awareness and dispel the misconception that nuclear science is solely associated with atomic bomb explosions and warfare.

“We aimed to debunk myths surrounding nuclear science and technology, particularly in Africa, emphasising its advantages. As Biomedical Engineering students, our focus was on cancer management, providing insights into the relevant steps involved,” she mentioned.

Mr. Caleb Senyo Ansah, another team member, added, "we aimed to encourage individuals to have faith in nuclear science as a viable option, particularly in cancer treatment, given its competence in delivering effective healthcare solutions. Beyond healthcare, nuclear science and technology also find applications in nutrition, agriculture and various other fields. Our overarching goal was to create awareness about the multitude of benefits associated with nuclear science and technology and challenge the misconception that it revolves solely around destructive capabilities."

Mr. Philip Fiifi Ghanney, also representing the team, expressed deep gratitude to their lecturers, the Dean of the School of Engineering Sciences, Prof. Elsie Effah Kaufmann, and the Head of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Prof. Samuel Kwofie, for their unwavering support and encouragement throughout the competition. Additionally, they appreciated the Ghana Embassy in Austria for hosting them and facilitating valuable connections during their stay.

In reaction to the awards, the Dean of the School of Engineering Sciences said, “I am extremely proud of them. It is a testament to the creativity of these students to be able to put in a winning entry. They have shown a lot of proactive thinking and a lot of determination to succeed, and I know they will go very far. It was a pleasure to work with them, too.”

She stated that the students' win was a big plus for the University of Ghana, the School of Engineering Sciences, and the Department of Biomedical Engineering. “It does not happen often. This, by the way, is the first time this competition has been announced, so they have actually made it into the history books” she added.

On the reaction of other institutions and partners to this win, the Dean said, “it is a huge honour. You should have seen the kind of messages I got from our colleagues at the Ghana Atomic Energy Commission. All the Commissioners sent in their congratulations. They were extremely proud to have a team from Ghana have this win.”

The awards event was attended by Dr. Kwaku Afriyie, Ghana's Minister for Environment, Science, Technology, and Innovation, who underscored the significance of the awards. He noted that the awards reflect the government's commitment to nurturing and acknowledging exceptional talent in environment, science, technology and innovation.

The ceremony also drew a distinguished Ghanaian delegation, including Prof. Aba Bentil Andam, Prof. Dickson Adomako, Dr. Nii Kwashie Allotey, Prof. Augustine Faanu, Dr. Emmanuel Ampomah-Amoako, Hon. Dr. Emmanuel Marfo, Hon. Ebenezer Tei-Larbi, Hon. Della Adjoa Sowah, Hon. Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Hon. Samuel Atta Akyea, Mr. Abdalla Ibrahim Gariba, Dr. Kwaku Anning and Prof. Samuel B. Dampare.

The University of Ghana takes pride in the achievement of Ms. Samuella Chiakwor Otuteye, Mr. Philip Fiifi Ghanney, and Mr. Caleb Senyo Ansah, and extends hearty congratulations to them for making the University proud.